Then&Now: The Sound Of Music

Call me a hopeless romantic, but I love musicals. My favorite has always been “The Sound of Music.” I remember seeing it on television as a kid and wishing for a large singing Austrian family to adopt me! When I saw this layout in Bazaar Magazine based on the musical, I went looking for my parent’s old record album. A booklet inside the album gives production information on the film and shows lots of pictures. I’ve placed some of those with the recent Bazaar magazine photographs.

opt-maria-on-the-mount-soun.jpg

The opening scene of “The Sound of Music” with Julie Andrews singing her heart out!

opt-first-frame-sound-of-mu.jpgopt-second-frame-sound-of-m.jpg

Model Eva Herzigova plays the role of “Maria” in this fashion shoot. She’s wearing a black dress and blouse by Chanel.

opt-the-problem-with-maria.jpg

Maria is late again. What are the nuns to do?

opt-how-do-you-solve-a-prob.jpg

“How do you solve a problem like Maria?” Perhaps a dress and belt by Fendi might help.

opt-maria-with-hat-sound-off-_2.jpg

Maria struggles to gain confidence through a song, a tweed suit and a hat.

opt-maria-by-the-gate-sound.jpg

“I have confidence in me…and Michael Kors!” His tailored jacket, blouse, and skirt. Tracy Watts created the hat.

opt-a-few-of-my-favorite-th1.jpg

Frightened by thunder, the van Trapp children gather in Maria’s room.

opt-pillow-fight-sound-of-m.jpg

“A few of my favorite things…” would include this dress from Roberto Cavalli.

opt-maria-on-bike-sound-of.jpg

Here they come! The van Trapp children on bikes and wearing clothing made from Maria’s bedroom curtains!

opt-bike-brigade-sound-of-m.jpgopt-number-_2-bike-brigade.jpg

Model Eva Herzigova joins the bike brigade! She wears a dress, blouse, and tights all by Prada.

opt-the-captain-and-maria-s.jpg

The most romantic scene in movie history is when Captain van Trapp (Christopher Plummer) and Maria confess their feelings for one another.

something-done-right-sound.jpg

Being in the arms of the one you love and wearing a beautiful dress- what more could you want?! This one is designed by John Galliano for Dior, the necklace is from Kara Ross.

8 thoughts on “Then&Now: The Sound Of Music

  1. I love the idea for the photo spreads, but I don’t think anything beats the original (: I do like the picture of the Roberto Cavalli dress though.

  2. wow, that is completely amazing. what a great idea for a photo spread. would be fun to put together.

    i must have watched that movie 10,000 times when i was growing up.

  3. I liked the idea but I think there are far better musicals to choose from. It would have been awesome if they did shots from various musicals.

  4. How cool! Still, Eva’s no Julie Andrews – I doubt very much she could belt a high G while looking hot in a bob.

    You have a lovely blog – I shall be back to visit!

    Becky.

  5. I must get my hands on Harper’s Bazaar! The Sound of Music is one of my favorite films of all times, so uplifting. Believe it or not, I was living in Iraq (!!!) when a friend of my mum’s gave me the video tape; I watched it a billion times since.

  6. I remember when the movie first came out. I was a young child and saw it at the movie theater downtown in our little East Texas town. I now own it on DVD–it’s a classic.

Comments are closed.