Decorating@Nibs- Fireplace Mantels

I thought it would be a fun challenge to do a collection of posts on decorating. Not whole room renovations mind you, but rather smaller, more manageable projects. First up will be a bunch of ideas for decorating fireplace mantels. So…check back as I’ll be posting a new mantel arrangement each week. I hope these will provide lots of inspiration.

Fireplace Mantel Idea #11- Inside/Outside

I loved the idea of using this colorful floral fabric as a whimsical backdrop for some garden related items.

1. Fabric from Calico Corners

2. Old watering cans (similar at Terrain)

3. Rabbit photograph by Walter Schels from his book ‘Animal Portraits

4. Vintage picnic basket

5. Garden bench

A peek at next week’s mantel!

(Styling & photos- Martha B.)

Related Nibs post-

Decorating@Nibs- Series

12 thoughts on “Decorating@Nibs- Fireplace Mantels

  1. Of course I love this one! Is the fabric a Morris print or just reminiscent; couldn’t tell from the Calico Corners site? I still have never figured out a way to display my collection of watering cans. I think they are too fat for our fireplace mantle but now I am going to have to give it a try.

    1. Linda- Oh..I know…the fabric looks so much like a William Morris print…only brighter! It was stunning as a wallcovering…just wish I could do it in my own home!

    1. Hi Sandra- The wallcovering is actually fabric from Calico Corners. But you’re right…the pattern is vibrant and fun. I would still love to see a whole room done in it.:)

  2. Love that mantel! I ordered the fabric, but can’t find that bunny portrait on the site you linked it to, any ideas of where I might find one?

    1. Hi Gen- Did you follow the link to Amazon for the book ‘Animal Portraits’ by Walter Schels? The photo is in there.:)

  3. LOVE the fabric you hung on the wall. What a great way to spice things up without making it permanent. I’m a renter and would like to try that in my apartment. How did you mount the cloth? And did you tack it down on the sides, too? Thanks!

    1. Emma- There are several different ways to mount fabric on the walls. You can do it like wallpaper…prepping the walls with a special sealer and then a paste that’s made for hanging fabric. Your local wallpaper store can help you with this. A friend and I did this method in my master bedroom. The next one is to apply furring strips (thin pieces of wood) to the walls measuring the width of your fabric. You use a staple gun and shoot staples through the fabric into the strips. The last way is bypassing the furring strips and shoot directly into the plaster/lathe or sheetrock. This is what I did for the mantel series. I was able to patch up the small holes when I was finished with spackle. Hope this has helped.

  4. It’s me AGAIN lol I still couldnt find the rabbit photo so I made my own I printed a graphic of a rabbit i found online onto fabric and imposed it onto a board my mantel is not as pretty as yours but you can see it here: http://eweniquetreasures.blogspot.com Thanks so much for the inspiration :)

    1. Gen- Thanks for letting me see your mantel. I love how you came up with your own creative solution. I would never have thought of scanning a rabbit onto fabric! I may have to borrow your idea and try it out some time. :)

Comments are closed.