StyleFile #1: Decorative Wood Piles

My StyleFile is where I stash magazine photographs and information about homes, fashion, weddings and gardens. Some clippings I’ve had for years and others are current. I find this way of organizing pictures helpful when I need fresh inspiration or a point of reference for a client. Mainly, I just collect the pictures for fun.

When I was growing up, my family had the traditional fireplace. The wood was stored outside. There was nothing decorative about the pile. It was stacked neatly between two trees a good distance from the house. It was purely functional. I’ve recently noticed a trend in bringing the wood indoors. I’m not quite sure how practical that is (bugs and dirt) but I have to admit I love the rustic touch it adds.

This covered porch is the perfect spot for logs-it’s both outside and inside. The window placed in the center of the stack is a wonderful touch.

wood-pile-on-porch-with-win.jpg

A large pile of wood is placed in this country home’s entry.

decorative-wood-piles-opt-3.jpg

Wood placement played an important part in the design of this fireplace.

decorative-wood-piles_opt-2.jpg

Whether in a contemporary or traditional room a wood pile is a pleasant surprise.

decorative-wood-piles_0003.jpg decorative-wood-piles_0007o.jpg
A lack of a fireplace didn’t stop these owners from putting logs in their dining room. The wood table and logs complement one another.

opt-decorative-wood-piles_0.jpg

For the fireplace that doesn’t work, fill it full of wood!

opt-fire-logs.jpg

(Pictures from: American Homestyle&Gardening, House&Garden, The Essential House Book, Elle Decor, Ralph Lauren, Living Etc. and via House to Home.)