More Small Scale Decorating #13


The IKEA 2014 catalog arrived in the mail last week.  Quite a few things caught my attention including this set of dollhouse furniture based on the company’s own designs. Then my friend Christine mentioned it on her blog. Well…that did it. I just had to make a drive to the nearest store to check it out. I ended up purchasing the set- sofa (with pink slipcover), yellow chair, green table, shelving unit, striped rug and heart pillow (not shown). The scale is bigger than most of the 1″=1′ scale I”m used to. But I’m always up for a fun challenge. :)


A large, traditional Toile print is a pleasant surprise combined with the more contemporary IKEA pieces. It also balances out the bold black and white rug. Two botanical posters (actually postcards from a boxed collection by Chronicle Books) hang above the sofa. Shelves have books crafted from cut foamcore covered in colored paint chips. I added my Pottery Barn Kids dollhouse table with a Post-it note shade lamp. Nesting tables are made of a section of a plastic box and the IKEA green table. Lantern is a Pier 1 find.

(Photos & Styling- © 2013 Martha Browne)

Related Nibs posts-

More Small Scale Decorating Series

My Imaginary Magazine Cover- The World Of Interiors