Our Garden Shed- Part Two


It’s fun hearing people’s first reaction when they enter our garden shed. They’re always pleasantly surprised. I love that. Inside this 8′ x 12′ space, I managed to fit a sink, desk, wicker chair, shelving and even a cot for napping.

By the way, that’s my friend Danielle hanging out in the shed.



1. Lumber- I chose to leave the rough cut planks exposed. Over time they will darken.

2. Sink- Directly behind Danielle is an old cast iron sink that I had stored under our front porch for ten years. It now has a home!

3. Shelves- A simple floor-to-ceiling pine bookshelf holds clay pots, watering cans, etc.

4. Stool- My father-in-law made this metal stool. It’s the perfect height for sitting and working at the sink.

5. Collectibles- Some things I’ve had for years (books, fruit boxes, tools, McCoy pottery, framed plant) and some things I’ve recently purchased (plates and hand towels).

6. Cot- I bought this World War ll era cot last year without a clear idea of how I was going to use it. But once the shed was built I knew I wanted it in there.



0. Table- Although not exactly what I envisioned, this table functions pretty well. It has an enamel top which is water proof and easy to keep clean. Plus it wasn’t a bad price- only $25! The metal lamp came from Pier 1.

1. Chair- An old wicker one from my parents. I used to sit in it as a kid.

2. Hats- My collection of garden hats hang from deer antlers.

3. Tools- Right now some of my tools are stored in a wooden barrel. Later they’ll be on the outside of the shed.

4. Plants- I love plants! Some I’ve put in clay pots and others I’ve suspended from the ceiling cross pieces using black rod iron S-hooks. This green ceramic container is from Anthropologie.

5. Burlap Bag- A West Elm bag is great for holding potting soil.

6. Straw- Two bales of straw for the vegetable beds. It’s a handy spot for my sheers and pruners, too.

(Photos & Design- © 2013 Martha Browne)

5 thoughts on “Our Garden Shed- Part Two

  1. Your garden shed is wonderful, Martha, just wonderful. So inviting and homey and peaceful and purposeful. You and your team did a fine job!

    1. Thanks, BJ. I reworked the furniture floor plan several times til it felt right. I also wanted the interior to feel layered and imperfect…like it had been used for years. I’ll pass on your compliments to the rest of the team (Scott, Daniel and Curtis).

Comments are closed.