The Toughest Job You’ll Ever Love

When I was in college my deepest desire was to join the Peace Corp. Perhaps in big part to their slogan “It’s the toughest job you’ll ever love.” I went several times to their presentations on campus and each time I walked away thinking this is what I want to do. Did I actually go? No. But I do have the toughest job I ever loved. Can you guess what it is?

It’s being a mother.

We waited six years to have our son. Even the pregnancy was difficult- I was in bed for the last two months. During that time, I read lots of books on raising children but really nothing prepares you for it. I found it’s hard work- changing diapers, nursing, correcting behavior and potty training. And there are no pay checks at the end of the week, no pats on the back and no vacations from it. But what you do as a mother has a lasting impact on your child. He or she goes into the world and hopefully makes it a better place. Yup, no doubt about it. It’s the toughest job you’ll ever love.

This is me with no make-up and not much sleep! And my bundle of joy, Curtis, when he was seven months old. He’s now twelve!

5 thoughts on “The Toughest Job You’ll Ever Love

  1. Martha B! What a wonderful post. I’m not a mother, but that made me appreciate mine more! You are special, and what a beautiful photo! That big smile on Curtis is priceless – must be one of your favorite photos of all time- you can feel the love!
    Happy Mother’s Day weekend!
    erika

  2. Such a sweet post! I’m expecting my first in October and although I’m scared and nervous, I’m also very excited! I know it will be tough but hopefully I’m ready for the challenge. It’s great to hear from moms out there who love their job!

Comments are closed.