Decorating@Nibs- Fireplace Mantels

What a stroke of luck! Just when I thought I was done with the series on fireplace mantels I got a call from the homeowners letting me back into their place for a few weeks. So…I put the ideas for place settings on hold and picked up where I left off in early June.

Fireplace Mantel #14- Retro Christmas

The basis for this mantle design started when I saw these glass globes at West Elm. I couldn’t help but envision them as small dioramas showing winter scenes. I bought two…

…and filled them with sugar snow, HO scaled model pine trees, deer & figures. After that the rest of the display fell into place.

1. Fabric wallcovering (similar at Joann’s)

2. Vintage set of deer antlers is affixed to a wooden plaque.

3. Collection of Christmas cards c. 1930-1940

4. Old glass ornaments are from my husband’s family.

5. I bought this lone antler from a shop in New York state.

6. Container Store solid blue wrapping paper & red ribbon

7&8. Glass globes available at West Elm. Figures are from here and here.

9. West Elm also had a bunch of these garlands for sale. They look a lot like a paper chain but they’re actually made of wood shavings. Unfortunately, they’re sold out online. Check individual stores to see if they have any left.

The stool is from Ikea.

A peek at next week’s mantel!

(Styling & Photos- Martha B.)

Related Nibs posts-

Decorating@Nibs

Christmas Ideas

2 responses to “Decorating@Nibs- Fireplace Mantels

  1. I am SO excited that you are doing more mantels!! This series has been one of my favorite on the blogosphere. I can’t wait to see all of the creative ideas you have come up with!

    • Glad to hear you’ve enjoyed this series, Melissa. I’ve had a lot of fun doing them and was elated when the homeowners called to say that I could have the room (where the mantel is) for a few more weeks. I had to really hustle to finish four more. :)