The Mature Bride

dress-for-mature-bride-opt

Who is the mature bride? She’s older and probably marrying for the second time. She has children and chances are her finance does too. She isn’t planning a big traditional wedding- just an intimate time with family and friends. She already wore the white bridal dress and veil the first time around, but she still wants to wear something special.

I think this dress works beautifully- satin with a pleated skirt and one shoulder tie by Ulrich Engler.

(Photo- British Brides Magazine)

6 responses to “The Mature Bride

  1. Oooh. I love this!

  2. what a beautiful tall woman! I am the bride you speak of. I bought a Pronovias dress for $135 on the internet, but unfortunately spent a fortune getting it to fit. Could have bought several nice dresses out there for the same. But this one is super-classy! I love it.

  3. What a funny post! I got married this summer at age 35 – my husband was 33, and it was a first wedding for both of us, and I still felt like a “mature bride.” I felt ridiculous in most of the wedding dresses I tried on, and it even felt weird being referred to as a “bride!”

  4. eileen marie

    I’m with Catherine –tied the knot @ 32 on 6.27.09. First marriage, no kids on either side, but still felt “mature” –and ridiculous in poufy gowns. I went with a Reem Acra sheath that made me feel absolutely beautiful.

    • Eileen- I think there are a lot of women, even getting married for the first time, that want a more refined wedding dress. Your sheath sounds gorgeous. :)

  5. Pingback: Over 30 and happy to be a bride | Chic Wedding Gowns